Sheboygan County Council to fill District 3 as Vicky Schneider resigns


SHEBOYGAN – The County Council is accepting nominations to fill a vacant seat for District 3, which includes Wards 11 and 13 of the town of Sheboygan.

Vicky Schneider, first elected to the board in 2020, has stepped down as she prepares to move out of the district. His replacement will serve the remainder of his two-year term expiring next April.

Schneider encourages anyone living in the district who is interested in local government to apply for the seat.

“It has been a very satisfying experience serving on the county board of directors,” she said. “The decisions that are made, even at the local level, really matter. I learned a lot about the county and I am so impressed with its leadership.”

Serving on the county board is something Schneider might consider again in the future.

“It’s a great way to serve the community,” she said.

About the job

County Board Chairman Vern Koch is accepting nominations to fill a vacant seat for District 3, which includes Wards 11 and 13 of the town of Sheboygan.

The County Board of Directors meets on the third Tuesday of the month starting at 6 p.m. at the Sheboygan County Courthouse.

Each board member also sits on one or more of the following nine committees: executive, finance, health and social services, health center, human resources, law, property, transportation or planning, resources, agriculture and extension.

Council members receive an annual salary of $ 2,100 and are reimbursed for mileage and per diem for county council and committee meetings.

OTHER NEWS: Sheboygan County’s lakeside air quality is improving, but still does not meet EPA ozone standards

OTHER NEWS: A major sewer line in Sheboygan is almost entirely underwater amidst the high levels of Lake Michigan. A $ 10 million project aims to protect it.

How to register

District 3 residents interested in applying for the vacant seat should send a letter of interest and brief resume to County Board Chairman Vern Koch at the Sheboygan County Administration Building, 508 New York Ave., Room 311, Sheboygan, WI 53081.

Applications must be sent by 5:00 p.m. on December 3.

Koch will appoint the supervisor, subject to county council approval.

For more information, contact President Koch’s office at 920-459-3103.

Contact Maya Hilty at 920-400-7485 or [email protected] Follow her on Twitter at @maya_hilty.


Leave A Reply