Search committee co-chairs appointed to identify next head of diversity and inclusion



Campus and community

Chancellor Kent Syverud today announced the members of the search committee tasked with identifying the next Head of Diversity and Inclusion (CDIO) at Syracuse University. The committee co-chairs are Cerri A. Banks ’00, G’04, G’06, Vice President of Student Success and Assistant to the Senior Vice President of Student Experience, and Brian Konkol, Dean of Hendricks Chapel. The CDIO position was first created in 2018 and plays a vital role in Syracuse University’s continued commitment to advancing academic excellence in a welcoming university for all.

“The importance of this position and its impact on the campus community have grown over the years,” Chancellor Syverud said. “Not only does the head of diversity and inclusion provide leadership, oversight and vision, but the leader plays a central role in how we move forward collaboratively and urgently in the implementation of initiatives that advance diversity, equity, inclusion and accessibility. “

The other members of the research committee are:

  • Jorge Castillo, Director, LGBTQ Resource Center
  • Raj Dewan, Dean, School of Information Studies
  • James Duah-Agyeman, Director, Student Support, Diversity and Office of Multicultural Affairs
  • Christopher Hamilton, Assistant Professor, Television, Radio and Cinema
  • Brittnee Johnson, Graduate Student Representative
  • Regina Jones, Assistant Director, Indigenous Student Program
  • Jennifer Mathews, Director, International Admissions, Co-Chair, DACA / Undocumented Students Advisory Committee
  • Suzette Melendez, Director, Child Rights and Family Law Clinic, Associate Dean for Equity and Inclusion, Faculty of Law
  • William Myhill, Acting Director and Coordinator ADA / 503/504, Office of Diversity and Inclusion, Office for Equal Opportunities, Inclusion and Resolution
  • Paula Possenti-Perez, Director, Service Center for People with Disabilities
  • Sarah Scalese, Senior Associate Vice President for Communications
  • Jeffrey M. Scruggs, Board of Trustees, Co-Lead, Trustees Advisory Committee on University Climate, Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Accessibility
  • Juan Tavares, Director, International Service Center
  • Raymond Toenniessen, Associate Vice-President, Strategic Initiatives

Additional professors and an undergraduate student representative to the committee will be appointed in the coming days. The Research Committee will work in partnership with University management and consult with Vice Chancellor and Rector Gretchen Ritter and Senior Vice President and Director of Human Resources Andy Gordon during the research process. The recruitment firm WittKeifer will assist the committee in all aspects of recruitment and selection.



Leave A Reply